Embracing Your Entire Self

This morning when I woke up, I did not have any energy or motivation to begin getting myself out of bed. Usually in the morning-time, I enjoy getting a workout in to start my day off on the right foot. After all, exercise is a great way to boost your mood given the release of endorphins! This past month I have embarked on a pilates workout program, making sure to complete each day’s challenge. Today’s workout challenge was of no difference; however, I felt as if my only potential in completing today’s challenge would result in me not giving my all. I did at least attempt at completing today’s challenge, given this week marks the last week of the monthly program.

Even merely attempting to drag myself out of bed to get in a sweat session was not enough to boost my mood. Instead, I completed a relaxing yoga session. Given that I tried getting a relaxing workout in this morning, I still was feeling down for no known reason at all. I had the opportunity to meet up with some friends and was continuing to feel down. Maybe the dreary weather was contributing to my mysterious mood.

After my one class today, I decided to treat myself to what we call “bubble tea.” I tried a new flavor of bubble tea and found it to be absolutely delicious. In waiting for my order to be made, I did not even realize the amazement occurring outside. When I went inside the restaurant, the clouds had formed a thick layering over the sun. When I stepped outside, the clouds had dispersed and the sun was shining brightly.

Sometimes we wake in the morning, feeling down and are not sure why we feel the way we do. Throughout the day, we are presented with numerous, small occurrences as a sign of hope that the sad times will not last forever. For me, the thick clouds can make you feel down for no reason at all. When the sunshine peaks through the thick clouds, a glimmer of hope and cheerfulness can be spread.

If you are feeling down at the moment or have been feeling sad, keep reminding yourself that the sad feeling will not last forever. Find those small things in your life that make you happy – whether that be sunshine and treating yourself to bubble tea. Keep your chin up! Always be sure to remind yourself that feeling down for no apparent reason is perfectly ok. You are allowed to take extra time in the mornings, when you are struggling to get yourself out of bed. You are allowed to treat yourself when you are feeling sad. You are more than allowed to take the time you need in order to take care of yourself. Sometimes we go throughout our lives with a constant concern for others while failing to care for the person looking back at us in the mirror. Make time for your own wellbeing and take much care of yourself.

Cat provides an excellent, personal story of how she was only taking care of her physical self. She found peace through her yoga practice, along with other daily changes. Check out her story here: http://tinybuddha.com/blog/what-it-means-to-really-take-care-of-yourself/

I also found this article online, listing 101 ways to take care of yourself when you are feeling down or overwhelmed. You can find the source here: http://www.upworthy.com/101-self-care-suggestions-for-when-it-all-feels-like-too-much

Notice how both articles stress the importance of remembering how feeling down or overwhelmed is perfectly normal, and the sad feeling does not linger forever!

Do you have any favorite practices that you do when you are feeling down or overwhelmed?

IMG_4552

I did find this beautiful rose, blooming ever so effortlessly. I recently posted this photo on my twitter account: @smalltown_blog

IMG_4558

I did not capture a photo of my bubble tea, as I drank it all before I could! Instead, I found this gorgeous photo on The Bubble Tea Company’s site.

Thank you for reading and I will see you guys soon,
Jennifer

Leave a Reply

